double knitting resources

double knitting is an amazing technique with endless possibilities. once you practice it a bit, it isn’t any more difficult or time consuming than regular knitting (i promise!). so if you’ve ever wanted to knit something reversible or super warm, or impress your friends by knitting two socks in one, i urge you to give it a try. below is a compilation of dk resources, because i really believe that conceptualizing in double knitting is the hardest part. once you “get it” you’ll be addicted!

learning

knittinghelp.com tutorial video videos are the easiest way for me to learn so i always suggest this video first. demonstrates a reversible potholder, which can be adapted to any reversible dk’ing project.

knitty.com extreme 2 socks in 1 article up to knitty’s well-written, well-photographed standards. these instructions are only for knitting two seperate pieces on one set of needles, and will not connect as a double-sided hat or scarf.

subversive knitting’s tutorial very very very basic. no colorwork, no magic socks. one color. tube. not really sure of a practical purpose but this will help even the most beginning knitter understand the concept.

lucy neatby’s double knitting dvd i’ve never seen this, but i’ve heard it’s a great resource that covers all the concepts within double knitting. if you can find it, let me know how it is 🙂

basic projects

itsbyerin’s om chart this chart is how i taught myself to double knit. the motif works beautifully applied to any garment.

crafty chick knit’s star scarf this was one of the first double knit projects i saw. the pattern is so simple but the finished scarf is so impressive and cute! UPDATED 1/4/2011: Thanks to Romy, this link will now send you to the actual pattern, even though Crafty Chick’s site has been down for a few years. Enjoy!

advanced projects/resources

fallingblox is a double knitter whose work really stands out as extremely advanced. even the stuff i do understand i would never dare try, but it seems to work for him.

ravelry’s double knitting group of course, moderated by fallingblox himself. projects contain some really nice pieces and the discussion is always nice too. there are also topics solving some of the more confusing dk problems you might encounter.

yahoo’s double knitting group has some other links and inspirational project.

my two cents

if you’re anything like me, you will need to go down 1-2 needle sizes to get your gauge the same in double knitting. otherwise your hand will be killing you after a few rows. even though it is seldom discussed in the knitting world, i have a feeling double knitting is going to be gaining popularity in the coming years, and i can’t wait to see what ya’ll do with it!

i’ll keep my eye out for more resources and keep this list updated.

17 thoughts on “double knitting resources

  1. so i arrive at the conclusion…. « Knitting Adventures

  2. have been looking all over the internet trying to find the pattern for crafty chick knit’s star scarf but keep getting a “bad request” or “expired-link” message. any idea how i can get that pattern?

      • Hello Vanessa,
        I have the pattern of crafty chick knit’s star scarf. Please let me know I you still need it.

        Romy :o)

  3. Romy,

    Could you please send me the Crafty chick star scarf pattern? My friend really wants it and I can’t find it anywhere. Thanks!

  4. Yes I could…. I have a word file but I dont know how to send it directly to you (sorry) Could you please help me?? :S

  5. Hi! I’m new to double knitting…and KILLING myself with Lynne Barr’s patterns in her book, Reversible Knitting. How is she getting two separate PATTERNS (not negative images) on each side? I’ve never had such a problem learning a pattern out of a book. I’d LOVE a video!

    • Tamar,

      Double knitting is a hard concept, but once you do it, everything will click! I did a post on what you’re talking about here. You just have to keep in mind that you’re knitting in two separate directions on two separate knitted pieces that just happen to be attached.

      I haven’t seen a video anywhere for it. If I get some free time, I’ll try to put one together, but it probably won’t be anytime soon. If you have any more questions, let me know and I’d be happy to help.

      Best,
      -v

Leave a Reply

